A Tribute To Robby Zulu

My heart breaks as I write this and think about this, but it needs to be done.

Robby Zulu started in the Coach in Zambia program in 2013 when he was in 8th grade. He was loud, hyper, always smiling and a genuinely happy kid.

 

Robby had probably the best attendance at practice of all the kids at Hillcrest and especially since he was born and raised in Livingstone, Zambia, even during school breaks he would come as often as possible. He dreamed of playing for the Mukuni Warriors someday, and while I don’t believe I told him, I shared the same dream.

While Robby was passionate about basketball, it didn’t define him as he was an exemplary student. On the same day of the tragedy, Robby competed in a science fair against other schools and students of all ages, Robby being a 10th grader came in 1st place. Robby skipped the awards presentation to get on the team bus that fateful day.

The week leading up to the accident, Robby came to me to tell me he would not be at practice due to working on the same project. As I always told him, school comes first I excused him from practice. On the Wednesday before, 2 days before the science fair and the accident, Robby came to the court to show me his project. He was so proud of it and wanted me to see it and give him some pointers. When I saw what he did I was blown away. I wish I could speak better about it, but he somehow separated a chemical in pesticides that could be used to target pest insects more effectively with less harm to plants and humans. It was brilliant to say the least. I always knew Robby was an intelligent kid, but this blew me away. I gave him a few tips on some questions he might be asked so that he was prepared to answer them. He then thanked me and went on his way.

 

If you look at the 3 pictures above, you will see Robby with Chimuka Mwinga. Like Robby, Chimuka is smart kid who also plays basketball with us. Chimuka went to school with Robby from preschool to present and has probably been hit the hardest by the accident.

On the day of the accident, I went to the court around 4:00pm and met with the team. We were heading to the semi-finals of the Coca-Cola Tournament in Monze at St Canicius Secondary School. Robby played spectacular in the first round of games which we won. The kids were waiting for the bus and the bus was going to be overcrowded so I told them to pick 3 kids to come with me to my house so that I could drive them in my car.

Chimuka, Daliso, And Ben came home with me, we were going to leave around 4 a.m as it was a 4 hour drive to Monze. While I am grateful these boys came with me, for who knows what might have happened if they were on the bus, I am forever guilt stricken that Robby didn’t come with us.

From the accounts of the Children on the bus, the driver and a teacher were drinking and smoking cigarettes on the bus. They had stopped the bus twice to buy alcohol. The driver approached a broken down truck on the side of the road, tried to overtake it without seeing ahead. There was oncoming traffic on the other lane and the driver swerved back into the parked truck. 6 students and a teacher all of whom were sleeping by the window did not wake up. Robby was one of them.

While I knew the others, not very  well, their stories are just as heartbreaking.

Robby Zulu will forever be missed. Robby died whilst holding on to a basketball. We have agreed not to use that basketball ever again and to have the team sign it and put it in a case in Robby’s honor. I plan to have a Mukuni Warriors Jersey made with his name on it. And frame it in the upcoming Coach in Zambia Offices. We have talked of doing a memorial tournament, a scholarship fund, and many other ideas as a way to honor his memory.

Robby’s teammates, classmates, friends, family and coaches will never be the same. As a father, I can only hope my boys grow up to be as good a person and student as Robby. In fact, it would make me so proud. Robby’s smile and ability to make others smile will be an everlasting memory for me and a lot of other people.

Rest in Peace Robby Zulu. We love you.

Written by Coach Robert McCarron

 

 

 

Leave a comment